Rallycross Classes

Rallycross Classes

Rallycross has some subtle differences when it comes to classifying them. But here’s what you need to know. Rallycross is made up of modified saloon cars with various engine, chassis and suspension modifications. Drive can be 2 or 4 wheel, with special competition tyres fitted. Cars are segregated into the various classes depending on engine capacity and whether or not they are 2 or 4 wheel drive. A full list and some detail is listed on each below.


A speed category "National B" grade licence is required. The minimum age limit is 16 years. A medical certificate is required, and this is part of the licence form. A Road Traffic Act driving licence is not required. Competitors under 18 years of age require written permission from their parents or guardians. There is a special junior class for 14-16 year olds, with special licence requirements and vehicles as per Motorsport Ireland Yearbook.
A first time licence costs as little as €40 if you are a member of one of our Affiliated Motor Clubs - non-club members pay €80.

Competition cars must have a full roll cage fitted. The windscreen must be laminated or rigid plastic type. Two extra high mounted brake lights, towing eyes for breakdown, a dual circuit brake system, integrated seat and headrest, electric cut off switch, mud-flaps on all driven wheels, fire extinguisher and a full safety harness are all required. Exact specifications are published in the current Motorsport Ireland Yearbook.

Competitors are required to wear a crash helmet (open or closed face type allowed), fire proof  overalls, underwear, socks, gloves and fire resistant boots.


Modified – Class 3a

Modified – Class 3b

Modified – Super 1600

Production – Class A

Production – Class B

Rally Car – Class 9

Rally Car – Class 9a

Rally Car – Class 9b

Buggy Class